Cross Border Power Trade and Future Energy Markets

Cross Border Power Trade and Future Energy Markets

Date: June 16, 2020 (Tuesday)

Time: 8 – 9:30 pm Manila Time (PST) / 7 – 8.30 pm Bangkok Time / 5.30 – 7 pm IST / 8 – 9.30 am EDT

To build on the move to multilateral markets in Asia, USAID India and USAID RDMA are organizing a side-event for ACEF 2020, including facilitating bilateral trade and development of domestic power markets which are foundational. This side event on “Cross Border Power Trade and Future Energy Markets” aims to explore opportunities to address political, institutional and technical barriers to increased bilateral and multilateral power trade. This would also raise awareness of how these markets can enhance opportunities for developing VRE and how VRE can facilitate increased power trade in Asia.

Agenda

Welcome Remarks by

Michael Satin, Director – Clean Energy and Environment Office (CLEEO), USAID/India

Case Study 1: Overcoming barriers to power trade and regional markets in South East Asia

Randi Kristiansen, Economics and Financial Analyst – Clean Electricity, IEA

Case Study 2: Cross border electricity trade in South Asia: Transitioning from bilateral to multilateral trade (Including power markets)

Rajiv Ratna Panda, Head-Technical, SARI/EI, IRADe

Case Study 3: Redesigning the Power markets: An enabler to RE Integration & multilateral trade

Anish Mandal, Electricity Markets Lead, USAID GTG-RISE Initiative & Director, Deloitte India

Moderated Expert Panel Discussion

Michael Satin, Director, CLEEO, USAID/India (Moderator)

Matthew Wittenstein, Chief of Section, Energy Connectivity, ESCAP

S.K. Chatterjee, Chief of Regulatory Affairs, CERC, Government of India

Shubhranshu Patnaik, Senior Advisor, USAID GTG-RISE Initiative & Partner at Deloitte India

Rajesh Mediratta, Director, Indian Energy Exchange (IEX)

Peerapat Vithaysarichareon, Lead Analyst – System Integration of Renewables, IEA

Speakers

Michael Satin

Director, Clean Energy and Environment Office (CLEEO), USAID/India

Randi Kristiansen

Economics and Financial Analyst-Clean Electricity, IEA

S.K. Chatterjee

Chief of Regulatory Affairs, CERC, Government of India

Rajesh Mediratta

Director, Indian Energy Exchange (IEX)

Matthew Wittenstein

Chief of Section, Energy Connectivity, ESCAP

Shubhranshu Patnaik

Senior Advisor, USAID GTG-RISE Initiative and Partner at Deloitte India

Peerapat Vithayasrichareon

Lead Analyst – System Integration of Renewables, IEA

Anish Mandal

Electricity Markets Lead, USAID GTG-RISE Initiative and Director, Deloitte India

Rajiv Ratna Panda

Head-Technical,
SARI/EI, IRADe

Registration

For participation, please register here.

Event Brochure

For more details, please click here to download the side event information brochure.

Organized by:

usaid